Mixed Media – Home decor

mixed media Monday at scrapbooknerd.com
Hi ya, Joy here today with a fun home decor project for today’s mixed media inspiration.
I’ve had this project in my head for a while and I actually want to make a series of 3 for my niece’s bedroom. 

Mixed Media cross stitch hoop wall art - The Crafter's Workshop stencil - Octogonal Lace

I used a piece of canvas fabric in the hoop and glued the fabric to the inner hoop so I could work on it without the frame on it. This made it easier to use the stencil I chose and it kept the outer hoop clean.

I chose 4 paint colours and sponged it onto the canvas, I overlapped the colours and it’s not perfect. I wanted the final project to look worn.

Be Brave cross stitch hoop wall art

I printed off the sentiment be brave using the Miss Molly font. I then used that as a template to poke holes into the sticky-back canvas. The piece I stitched into was about 3″x4″.
After I finished stitching, I trimmed down the canvas and pulled out some of the threads to create a frayed edge.
Be Brave cross stitch hoop wall art

After everything was dry, I used some Matte Medium on the back of the stitched sentiment to help hold it on securely. I really wanted to pattern to stand out so I didn’t add any more embellishment. I’m considering sewing on a few sequins if my niece likes the sparkle. 🙂

If you have any questions let me know in your comments. Thanks for stopping by the SN blog.

Joy @ scrapbooknerd.com

https://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

ScrapbookNerd.com

Leave a comment