Silhouette Savvy Series – Stretch Your Cuts –

V2-Nerd-Academy-600x132

Hello everyone!

It is been a while since my last post, that even the season has changed.

Well today, i am back with a tutorial -no video this week- on how to stretch a cut file.  I don’t know about you, but i always try to see how can i use every single piece of paper that gets to  my desk.  I especially struggle with the leftovers from any cut-out from a cut file, and many times, I find ways to work them into another layout, or as layering pieces on my projects.

For this tutorial, i will be showing you how i go about using the leftovers of a cut file into a new layout, therefore stretching my cut.

  1.   I used the checkered heart cut file from    Studio Calico by Paige Evans to create a  cut out for one of my reveal layouts.  Once i  took the cut out from the mat,  the leftover cuts still had a great design, that could be worked into another layout.
best-ever-tutorial

I tried to use a cut file that had large pieces (as it makes it easier to transfer the design into a new layout)

 

2.   I picked some watercolor paper to start my new layout.  Using removable tape, I went ahead and glued the cut-out to the  watercolor paper.   NOTE:  using removable tape is the key to transferring the design.  If you don’t have removable tape, little pieces of washi tape can be used to hold the cut-out in place.

best-ever-tutorial-2

 

3.  Once the cut-out is glued.  I started to transfer the pieces (just like a puzzle)  from the cutting mat to the watercolor paper.  I made sure to use permanent glue to secure all the little pieces to the mat.   It was easy to transfer the pieces using the cut-out as a guide.

This is what the page looked like after transferring all the pieces.

This is what the page looked like after transferring all the pieces.

4.  I used a pencil to draw the outline of the cut out around the transferred pieces; then carefully, i peeled the cut-out out of the mat (if you are using washi tape, just be careful not to rip the cut-out).

best-ever-tutorial-5

 

5.  This is what i had left on the  mat after securing the pieces (i just added a few drops of glue to the  middle of the little pieces)

best-ever-tutorial-4

 

6.  Once i saw the pieced heart, all i could think about was mixed media.  So i went ahead, and used color shine to create a colorful background  (I think watercolor would have worked just as well).

 

The penciled heart was a great addition, as I used a piercing tool to create a stitching guide to the layout

The penciled heart was a great addition, as I used a piercing tool to create a stitching guide to the layout

 

I did not gessoed the page, since i wanted to create texture by wetting the pieces with ink -the corners of the pieces tend to curl a bit.

 

 
After stitching around the penciled heart, I added a picture of my baby (with just a few pieces of ephemera around),  a large title, and some journal lines.  I tried to keep the page simple so that the background showed as much as the picture.

 
 

BEST EVER @scrapbooknerd.com

The finished layout

I love this layout,   it is simple and full of color and texture.  I hope this inspires you into taking a second look at the leftover pieces of your cut-outs.

As always let me know if you have any questions about how the layout came together.

See you soon!

 

Nathalie @ scrapbooknerd.com

 

 

 

ScrapbookNerd.com Canadian online paper craft supply store

Leave a comment