Countdown to Christmas – Day two – A 1 Hr. Holiday Layout

Hello Nerds! Today, Nathalie is sharing a quick layout for day two of our countdown.

We are so excited to take part in this series! I am all about the season (both my kids are Christmas babies!), and finding ways to document all those small moments.

I know that during the holidays, time seems to speed up. We tend to forget about printing the picture, and documenting the moment (i am guilty of that). With that in mind, i created this 1 hr layout (it took this long because I had to hand-stitch on it).

1hour1

I am using the entire Illustrated Faith’s “CHRISTmas” collection for this project -i picked this from the store a few weeks ago- I started by cutting 2 in. squares (12 in total for this 12×12 layout) from the patterned papers in the collection. I arranged them into 3 rows of 4 squares each horizontally. Once glued, i added handstitched diagonal lines (this step took most of the hour, but i took the page to my son’s soccer practice, and stitched the lines while we waited for him), but you can chose to just leave the grid simple, or add some machine stitching.

1hour2

I have lots of pictures of my kids when little (i had very little crafting time back then, but always made sure to document little notes when i downloaded the pictures to my computer). So i pulled this picture of my daughter after she built her first gingerbread house. I simply layered papers from the collection, and buid clusters from the collection add-ons around it.

1hour3

After that i added my title using some rub-on letters from my stash, my journal lines, and a few ink splatters.
I really hope this serves as inspiration on how to document a memory in a short amount of time. Let me know if you have any questions about how this came together, and if you use this as inspiration for one of your projects, link it up to this thread – we would love to see it!-

See you all very soon!!

Leave a comment