Not All Layers Need To Be Paper

Hello all! Milena here with another sketch and tutorial for you.

February Tutorial Sketch

February Tutorial Sketch Page

Sometimes you might look at a sketch and think it won’t work because you’re in the mood to get your hands dirty and incorporate a little bit of mixed media on your page. Not all the layers in a sketch need to represent paper. For the large bottom layer of this sketch, I cut a stencil out of vinyl using my Silhouette Cameo and misted through it to create a soft background layer. I used vinyl instead of paper for my stencil because I find it gives cleaner edges when using textured card stock.

I began by preparing the file within Silhouette Studio.

Silhouette Screen

I then changed my cutting material to vinyl.

Choose your Media

Then I changed my Silhouette setting to Load Media and put the vinyl straight into the Cameo.Silhouette Settings

I weeded the image and placed the Transfer Paper on top.

Preparing the vinyl

Then attached the vinyl to my page.

Place on the page

I misted through the stencil and – voila! – I had a lovely background image.

Misted

February Tutorial Sketch Page

February Tutorial Sketch Detail

Go ahead and give this a try sometime if you’re feeling the need to get your hands dirty. Mixed Media can always replace a layer in a sketch.

Silhouette Stencil Vinyl

Vicky Boutin All the Good Things 12×12 Pad

Vicky Boutin All the Good Things On the Edge Embellishments

Heidi Swapp Color Shine Spritz

Milena W - designer at scrapbooknerd.com

Leave a comment