Extend Your Single Sketch

Sometimes I have a single page sketch I really like but the photos I want to work with are from a trip or at an event and I need more than a single page. An easy way to take a sketch and turn it into a double page layout is to use that single page sketch to showcase the best photos of the bunch then build out a very simple facing page using the same paper etc. In this case, I’m going use a simple grid design.

I had some photos of my daughter and I working on fixing up our front porch this summer. I wanted to include more than just before and after shots so I used this sketch:

3 Photo Sketch

to build out the first page.

3 Photo Page

Double Page

This page is simple and clean and the focus is on the photos. But I still had many more photos of the process that I also wanted to include so I came up with a simple grid format:

Grid Design

And I built out the second page.

In this case I used 3.5×3.5” photos but you could easily change this up to accommodate as many or as few photos as you would like to use.

You could pair this grid design with any single page sketch. If the number of photos you wanted on that second page didn’t correspond with the number of photos in the grid, you could replace one of the photo blocks with paper, embellishments or even journaling! This grid page could even be used as a single page too if that fit your needs.

3 Photo Page

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope this tutorial has given you some ideas on how to get more photos on a layout and how to adapt a single page sketch to suit your needs.

Craft on, everyone.

 

Milena W - designer at scrapbooknerd.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mind Your Manners by Bella Blvd. 

 

 

Leave a comment