Fussy Cutting Embellishments

V2-Nerd-Academy-600x132

Hello everyone! I hope your week is off to a good start. This month, I’m playing around with the gorgeous My Story collection from My Mind’s Eye. This collection is incredibly versatile and works well for any of the four seasons, even with the butterflies and floral patterns.

Speaking of butterflies … there were a handful of cardstock butterflies in the ephemera package I got, but I wanted more to include on my layouts. The solution? I pulled out this sheet of paper from the collection, flipped it over to the B-side and began snipping away, carefully cutting out individual butterflies …

303104-600x600-2

Once I had my butterflies cut out, I added a small foam dot to the back to give it a 3D effect. Then I adhered the butterflies to my project. Fussy cutting patterned paper and using foam dots to help the images pop off the page is such a quick, simple and cost-effective way to add dimension to your layouts.

DSCN0070

Here’s an example of a layout featuring butterflies cut from the This Moment paper …

scrapnerdproject1

… And here’s a second layout, with more fussy-cut butterfly embellies …

snproject2

I hope I’ve inspired you to bust out your scissors, grab some foam adhesive and create your own pretty ephemera pieces and embellishments. Be sure to swing by the blog on Friday to see the rest of my projects made using this collection; I have tons more to share! 🙂

Products Used:

Leave a comment